History of Chikurin – Home to a Third Kingdom in Kozan!?

If you’re familiar with Eastern and Western Kozan, they were two countries that divided control of the Kozanese subcontinent. The eastern part of the country was a democratic free society run by the Kirisame Dynasty, while the western part of the country was a socialist regime controlled by the Yakumo Dynasty. However, there was a third leg within the subcontinent.

This so-called ‘third kingdom’ was known as the People’s Kingdom of Central Kozan (in Japanese: 中方鉱山国人民王国, Chuuhou Kouzan-koku Jinmin Oukoku). It makes sense since it lies within the central part of Kozan.


Central Kozan’s roots extend from its first ruler, Empress Kaguya Houraisan I, who fled Japan during the Heian Period to flee prosecution for drinking the Elixir of Mt. Hourai. She eventually settled on an island just kilometers south of the border that would eventually divide Eastern and Western Kozan when they would later form. It was a tiny island that spans only 5,000 acres, and roughly half a million people live there as of Kozan’s 2000 Census.

This island was known as the Lunar Capital because of its beautiful nightlife. Houraisan seized this area from a prominent youkai-born family in the late 10th century. The island consisted of a tall mountain that was named after Houraisan herself. She and her descendants lived on the island for over six and a half centuries when an uprising from the Yakumo Clan in the late 17th century seized the Lunar Capital, forcing the Houraisan family to leave and get into mainland Kozan. Travelling to a bamboo forest, the first of what would eventually become three kingdoms was established by Empress Kaguya II. She chose to name the city Chikurin and her imperial palace Eientei. Originally, the name for the new kingdom was the People’s Kingdom of Kozan, but after the Federal Kingdom of Eastern Kozan and the Democratic Kingdom of Western Kozan formed, so did the name People’s Kingdom of Central Kozan.

Kaguya II’s ideas, which she taught to founders Queen Marisa of Eastern Kozan and Queen Yukari of Western Kozan, helped influence the establishment of those two kingdoms during the Edo Period. Central Kozan had a very strong relationship with Eastern Kozan, and in 1850, Central Kozan agreed to join the Federal Kingdom of Eastern Kozan. The Houraisan family was allowed to stay in power as monarchs, albeit under the title of daimyo. Today, Kabayashi province is the only province in Kozan whose daimyo/governers are not chosen through direct election but passed hereditary.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: